McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
 | 
Average Guest Rating for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Guest reviews for Market Cross Guest House, Belford are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.8
Value:
4.6
Friendliness:
5.0
Cleanliness:
5.0
Facilities:
4.8
Staff service:
5.0
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
5.0
Guest Rating:
4.9
From 25 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 Next
Elizabeth
With a colleague
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Will return!"
Hosts superb: Advice and discounts given where possible. Food fantastic and the little extras eg banana cake on arrival, flapjack in room, fresh milk, sherry, mead available made it even better. Would… Read more
"Will return!"
Hosts superb: Advice and discounts given where possible. Food fantastic and the little extras eg banana cake on arrival, flapjack in room, fresh milk, sherry, mead available made it even better. Would recommend evening meal, although allow 48 hours for them to buy and prepare the food - well worth it! Read less
Likes:
The food was fantastic and the evening meal menu(allow 48 hours) was superb. Need to go back and try the rest of the breakfast and evening meal options. The extras made this B&B stay out from others.
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Susan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A peaceful and quiet location"
We stayed for 2 nights and were able to include a trip to the Farne Islands and to Lindisfarne.… Read more
"A peaceful and quiet location"
We stayed for 2 nights and were able to include a trip to the Farne Islands and to Lindisfarne. Read less
Likes:
It was well positioned for our activities and Amanda and Steve looked after us very well.
Dislikes:
Found the room a little small, with very little opportunity to unpack.
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for taking the time to review us Susan. Our twin room is not a large room like our doubles but we have made the best use of the space. The wardrobe has hanging space and there is a small chest of drawers also. Storage can be extended by putting cases beneath the beds as we have changed the divans for frames which are off the floor to provide options for putting cases and bags out of sight. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Brian
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"a weekend we want to repeat"
a wonderful stay in friendly surroundings, recommended by friends and didn't disappoint!… Read more
"a weekend we want to repeat"
a wonderful stay in friendly surroundings, recommended by friends and didn't disappoint! Read less
Likes:
a perfect location for our first visit
Dislikes:
no
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for the lovely review Brian and we are glad we met your expectations. We hope to see you agin on your next visit to North Northumberland.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Marian
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"A warm and welcoming place to stay"
We wanted a little bit of luxury for our short break to celebrate both of our birthdays in May. We stayed at the Market Cross in Belford for a few days over the Bank Holiday weekend. We felt really… Read more
"A warm and welcoming place to stay"
We wanted a little bit of luxury for our short break to celebrate both of our birthdays in May. We stayed at the Market Cross in Belford for a few days over the Bank Holiday weekend. We felt really welcome straight away. The small thoughtful gestures made all the difference: the slice of homemade cake on arrival and constant supply of flapjacks in our room; the complimentary Lindisfarne mead nightcaps; and best of all - a card and box of chocolates on my birthday! Read less
Likes:
Steve and Amanda are very kind and attentive hosts. The breakfasts were really good too!
Dislikes:
Red room has a very small en-suite, consequently the basin is in the room very close to the bed, which I did not like. There was no dressing table, the only mirror with a light was above the basin.
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for the review. We have redecorated and furnished our rooms so as to appeal to a wider demographic than prior to our arrival and we are still in the process of making physical alterations to areas we feel need to be changed but this will take a little more time. As regards the wash basin, it is clearly shown in the photos and will, in the future, be incorporated into an enlarged ensuite. We have not had a complaint on any other points mentioned but will look at all of them in future.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Pauline
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Brilliant B & B - wonderful stay!"
Very comfortable B & B (with optional dinner). Room was 'home from home' - mini fridge, Nespresso coffee maker (no Geroge Clooney unfortunately!!!, kettle & teas, sherry & mead on offer after a long… Read more
"Brilliant B & B - wonderful stay!"
Very comfortable B & B (with optional dinner). Room was 'home from home' - mini fridge, Nespresso coffee maker (no Geroge Clooney unfortunately!!!, kettle & teas, sherry & mead on offer after a long day's sightseeing; very comfortable beds; plenteous hot water; Amanda &
Steve the most wonderful hosts - NOTHING too much trouble; a host of little 'extras' to ensure a good stay. We cannot rate this B & B highly enough! Read less
Likes:
Lovely room - comfy beds; Steve on hand to help with baggage; all food home made as near as possible;breakfasts a real treat; dinner just superb - would not get better in 5* restaurant!!!
Dislikes:
The sink in the bedroom - but I guess this is something inherited with the building and would take time and money to sort out. NOT a major factor.
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you Pauline. Srory we don't have a resident "Clooney". Yes the sink is a job for the future and we have plans but as you mention it is also time and money as it will be a major job to enlarge the ensuite and move all the plumbing. Be assured it is a remnant of previous ownership and one we will rectify.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Susan
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Superb place"
Stayed here for one night on a walking holiday but would have liked to stay longer. It is in a lovely quiet setting and there was nothing to fault this fantastic b&b. The rooms were large, decorated a… Read more
"Superb place"
Stayed here for one night on a walking holiday but would have liked to stay longer. It is in a lovely quiet setting and there was nothing to fault this fantastic b&b. The rooms were large, decorated and furnished superbly and there was everything you could possibly need, including a glass of mead or sherry! The food at both breakfast and the evening meal was delicious, made to perfection by Amanda. Read less
Likes:
Friendliness of the owners, Steve and Amanda, and the quality of the rooms and home made food were exceptional.
Dislikes:
No
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for the review Susan. Amanda works very hard in the kitchen to provide great food for our guests and the local quality produce also helps. The evening meals have really taken off this year and the reason seems to be that prospective guests can see how good they are from comments such as these. We hope you will come and stay with us agin and see what else Northumberland has to offer.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Ron
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent top quality B&B accommodation"
We stayed for 2 nights at the Market Cross, having picked it out on the quality of its reviews. It met our expectations in every way… Read more
"Excellent top quality B&B accommodation"
We stayed for 2 nights at the Market Cross, having picked it out on the quality of its reviews. It met our expectations in every way Read less
Likes:
The owners were very attentive to our needs. The quality of the room was exceptional and fitted out in a high quality way. We had an evening meal on the first night and the food was amazing.
Dislikes:
Nothing at all.
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thanks Ron. We try very hard to meet the expectations of our guests and with the lovely reviews we have been getting this is even more important. Thanks again for mentioning Amandas cooking. she works hard to produce high quality food and menus that some guests may be surprised to see froma small B&B. We hope you will come back to us.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Barbara
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Comfortable Enjoyable stay"
Lovely welcome. Excellent meals. Friendly people who were only too willing to sdvise on places to visit.… Read more
"Comfortable Enjoyable stay"
Lovely welcome. Excellent meals. Friendly people who were only too willing to sdvise on places to visit. Read less
Likes:
All of the above
Dislikes:
No
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for the review Barbara and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
DARREN
Young Couple
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Superb Luxury Guest House in an Ideal Location for Visiting the Area"
We booked the Market Cross Guest House after reading all of the great reviews. It was everything we expected and more. Amanda and Steve made us feel really welcome. In a great location for visiting th… Read more
"Superb Luxury Guest House in an Ideal Location for Visiting the Area"
We booked the Market Cross Guest House after reading all of the great reviews. It was everything we expected and more. Amanda and Steve made us feel really welcome. In a great location for visiting the area as the village is just off the A1 but it is nice and quiet. You can park outside the Guest House or over the road in the square (no parking restrictions). The room (blue one) was a good size and was modern but had retained it's traditional features which was nice. The breakfast was great. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly and welcoming, clean and tidy. Great location for visiting the area. Spacious, comfy, and quiet rooms. Huge bath with a separate shower. Lovely choice of breakfast cooked to your liking.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thank you for the lovely review Darren. We have made sure we have retained as many features of the property as possible while decorating to appeal to a wide range of guests. We like the fact that Belford is quiet and a nice place to relax after a busy day. The Blue room is always popular with that bath as it is larger than most these days and seems to be the choice for anyone wanting to just soak at the end of the day. We hope you will come back and see us again.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Linda
Group of Adults
Stayed: Apr '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Fantastic B&B in Belford"
Friendly welcome, cake on arrival, beautiful rooms, helpful owners,delicious breakfast.… Read more
"Fantastic B&B in Belford"
Friendly welcome, cake on arrival, beautiful rooms, helpful owners,delicious breakfast. Read less
Likes:
Everything!
Dislikes:
None
Response from Market Cross Guest House:
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review Linda, it really shows us we are doing it right. We look forward to seeing you again.
Guest Review for Market Cross Guest House, Belford
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 Next